Whether you tested celiac-positive or you’re just joining the fad, here are some things to take note of.
You’ve heard it a million times before: you don’t have to go gluten-free unless you have celiac disease. But if you insist on giving it a go, or if you belong to the one percent of people in the world who have this disorder, take in these pointers.
Gluten can be found in unexpected places.
Besides obvious culprits like ramen and cake, gluten can also be found in condiments like soy sauce too. Always make sure you check the list of ingredients and allergens to stay true to your gluten-free diet.
You may not lose weight.
Cutting off the near-ubiquitous gluten from your diet may sound like a shortcut to shedding some pounds, but if you’re replacing pasta with processed grains like white rice instead of whole grains, you probably won’t see much of a change on the weighing scale.
Gluten can be found in non-food related products.
Yes, you read that right. In fact, makeup and skincare products may contain substances derived from wheat, rye or barley, and so contain traces of gluten. For example, wheatgerm is a common source of vitamin E in cosmetics. So be sure to read the ingredients list the next time you update your beauty arsenal!